Arty Antics and Similar Stuff

Exciting adventures IRL.
Mantis
Landlord

Arty Antics and Similar Stuff

Post by Mantis » Thu Feb 10, 2022 5:17 pm

We already have a hobbies thread but I figured why not create a bespoke art thread when there are a few of us on here learning how to draw and such.

Not just limited to 2D art mind. Anyone into 3D modelling with things like Blender?

I started learning to draw in October 2020 and had a pretty strict routine that I stuck to for a good 7 or 8 months before other things started to get in the way and my discipline slipped. Still at it now, though I haven't managed to get back into the dedicated habit of drawing for two hours a day like I was in the beginning.

Some resources I used which were really invaluable.

https://drawabox.com/
The absolute basics to teach you good line discipline and how to construct objects out of primitive shapes. This was what I started with and I think it was very useful in helping me develop confident lines and understanding how to break things down into basic shapes. Not a thrilling exercise by any means, I think I have several hundred pages of just straight lines, cylinders and boxes in one of my folders; but it is very good at drilling the fundamentals.

Youtube
Tons you can learn on here for free. Lots of pros who have paid for courses online also put a ton of content up for free and you can learn so much just from those before ever spending a penny. People I subscribe to include Ahmed Aldoori, Alphonso Dunn, CTRL+Paint, David Finch, FZD School, Love Life Drawing, Marc Brunet, Marco Bucci, Noah Bradley, Proko, Scott Robertson, Sinix, Swatches and Trent Kaniuga.

https://quickposes.com/en
Great site for practicing your figure and gesture drawing. (Warning, includes nude poses)

https://www.artstation.com/learning