General TV News

Small Screen. Bigger Screen.
Raid
Local

General TV News

Post by Raid » Mon Apr 12, 2021 7:22 pm

I figured we probably need a TV news thread, given the Good TV thread seems to be better suited to discussing airing shows, and we have something similar for films.

Anyway, I'll kick off with Netflix's adaptation of Cowboy Bebop, which has finished filming. I'll admit I'd forgotten about this adaptation, it was put on hold back in 2019 after star John Cho (playing Spike) suffered a knee injury while filming, and then Covid happened.

Suffice to say there's a lot riding on this for me. Cowboy Bebop was the best anime I ever watched, it's almost certainly in my top 5 TV shows in general. It has my absolute favourite soundtrack from any form of visual media, which I still listen to reasonably often twenty years later (and I *really* overplayed it when I was a student, to the point where I convinced a friend doing a music degree to play a few tracks on his student radio programme). Remaking it is like remaking Star Wars or The Next Generation. I don't think there's a hope in hell of it living up to that; I don't think there's ever been a live-action anime adaptation that wasn't a let-down.

But I still can't help but be excited; I think John Cho's a good pick for the lead, the almost impossibly lithe Spike Spiegel, and the adaptation is going to have hour-long episodes which suggests to me it'll have some budget behind it.

It's supposedly coming in 2021, though there's no more specific date than that.

Animalmother
Local

Re: General TV News

Post by Animalmother » Tue Apr 13, 2021 10:31 am

Good idea sir

Season 5 of Rick & Morty out soon. I think the last season had some of my favourite episodes yet so that's a good sign.

Season 2 of The Witcher is finished filming and is due sometime later this year maybe. Same with Black Summer, the slightly trash but still enjoyable zombie apocalypse show.

Achtung Englander